Playing Hookie

One of my babies, who shall remain nameless lest he be shamed in the future with this little tale, is home sick from school today.  I do not have a problem with sick children staying home from school.  I think they should keep their germs away from other children.  My child is not sick.  Every once in a while, a parent is able to tell the difference between an actual infection and an upset tummy from a meal which was too rich.  Parents are funny that way.

Yesterday, this nameless child ate ribs for dinner.  Actually, both ate ribs, but only one was affected this way.  He was fine all evening long!  He played a shooter video game with his dad while his brother was sent to shower.  Immediately after finishing a round of this game, knowing it was his turn to shower, he claimed to have a headache and then a stomachache.  He carried on until I told him that if he was so sick, he should just go to bed.  He came back downstairs about thirty minutes later with a red face and a tear in one eye, saying his stomach hurt very badly.  I took him upstairs, suddenly worried I had missed something important.  The boys have never faked an illness for more than a few minutes.  For this bellyache to still be an issue, this boy must really be having issues!  So I took him upstairs, cuddled him, gave him a couple of tums, and cuddled him some more.  I may have poked and prodded his belly to see if he had a hot appendix.  He didn’t.  He asked for some water while his brother asked when it would be his turn to be cuddled.  He told me his tummy felt better, then he pointed at his throat.  “Are you going to puke?” I asked.  He nodded.  “Well, get up and puke in the toilet!”  Off we ran, his brother close at our heels.  He did get sick and I’ll spare you the rest of the details, but his brother was most impressed.  I put them both back in bed and the sickly boy, as I was tucking him in, smiled at me and said, “I don’t have to go to school tomorrow.”

Normally, I wouldn’t care, but today is my Wednesday off.  I like my Wednesdays by myself.  I jog at some time during the day with Ed the Awesome and then we have lunch.  They boys are supposed to be at school until 5:30 because they have a sports class after school, so I get the entire afternoon to myself.  I write my fiction and when a scene has left me, I clean the house a little.  (Not too much cleaning.  I don’t want that to be misunderstood.  I do as little of that as possible.)

Instead, this morning there is the trill of automatic guns on a video game and a child bouncing on my couch.  School policy states children must not return to school until they are free from fever and vomit for 24 hours.  My children know this.  The little devils read only the parts of the school policy they want to read.  You should feel sorry for him though.  He doesn’t know it yet, but he’s going shopping with me later.  He hates shopping.  I bet the next time he eats something too rich for his belly, he goes to school no matter where that rich food ends up.

One thought on “Playing Hookie

  1. You’re both fortunate that you are able to be with him when he does not feel well. Are you sure he doesn’t have strep throat?

Leave a Reply

