Sleeping Babies?

Ed and I realized early into my pregnancy that sleep was very important to us and that babies didn’t tend to sleep straight through the night.  We read lots of books and this was one of the most relevant things we discovered.  As a result, we resolved to do all we could to get them sleeping through the night as early as possible.  We were diligent.  We were lucky. 

On the morning the boys turned two months old, Ed and I woke around 7:30 in the morning to the glorious sound of our boys happily playing in their cribs.  With very few exceptions, they have slept through the night every night since then.

I get up at 6:00 in the morning (that’s a.m. and it’s painful for me to even think about it) when I go to work.  I’ve been doing  this for years.  Part of what makes my mornings easier is that the boys are still sleeping when I leave the house and Ed gets to wake them up and enjoy his morning routine with them.  And yesterday morning, I crawled out of bed at 5:45 a.m. and opened my bedroom door to take the dogs downstairs so they could go out and Trip, bright-eyed and bushy-tailed, raced out of his room and yelled, “Hi Mom!  I’m awake!  I got up at 4:00!”  (That wasn’t a typo.  Four o’clock in the morning.)

“Boy!” I said.  “What are you doing up?”

“I’ve been playing video games!” he announced proudly.  “I want some breakfast.”

The audacity!!  What is wrong with this child?  Breakfast is not part of my routine on days I work.  And it’s not like he doesn’t know where to find breakfast.  I have trained them to be independent!  Apparently, my children are still children.

“Dude, go back to sleep.”  (Yes, I revert back to my teenaged self when my vision is still blurry and I can barely string two words together.  They’ll get over it.  And they’ll make fun of me when they’re teenagers and I am completely okay with that.)

Cheerful as ever, he says, “Okay, Mommy!”

He trotted back towards his bedroom.

Did he go back to sleep?  I have no idea.

Did he say anything else to me?  No.

I really hope he was okay at school that day.  He didn’t complain that evening.

I’ve heard of people whose kids don’t sleep and I feel sorry for them.  And I’m really, really glad it’s not me.

One thought on “Sleeping Babies?

Leave a Reply

