Boys and Bike Riding and Picture Tolerance

Ok, so normal mothers would have made sure their little cherubs had their first bike at four years of age and could ride their bikes all over their little town by the time they entered kindergarten.  I didn’t do that.  I don’t want my babies leaving my sight because I might have a panic attack.  They’re not supposed to leave me.  Ever.  I just don’t think I could handle that.  Besides, there are no sidewalks in our neighborhood and I’d have to leave the confines of my home and take them somewhere to learn how to ride their bikes.  And I don’t want to leave the house.  (If it doesn’t involve shopping.) 

 Ed finally put his foot down this Christmas and said the boys had to have bikes and had to learn how to ride them.  We tried the bikes without training wheels first.  We quickly discovered that we should’ve bought them bikes much earlier because little bikes automatically come with training wheels.  We, on the other hand, had to buy training wheels and Ed got to put them on the boys new bikes. 

One of our neighbors has a circular drive and was kind enough to let us use the drive for the bike riding lesson.  There were a few angry tears shed, but the boys told me to toughen up and then the boys figured out how to ride bikes with training wheels.  They even got good enough for a little racing.  And then they got too close to the street.  I yelled.  They replied by telling me they were just trying to get away from the camera.  Monsters!  What child wouldn’t want every single second of their life documented on film?

2 thoughts on “Boys and Bike Riding and Picture Tolerance

  1. I’ve been cherishing this time with my girls too. I hate how soon schloos start here. That’s why when I started homeschooling I was determined for our summers to go from holiday to holiday. We won’t start till September 3rd. Then my busy time starts. Enjoy the rest of your summer.Vintagehoneybee.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

