Can I Be Sad About This?

Clear speech has not come easily to Trip.  He started speaking when he was ready (around 1 year old), but as his vocabulary grew, his speech impediment grew obvious.  Logie was his “brudder,”  third was “furd.” It was so very sweet because he always sounded so young.  When he was tiny, he would get so very frustrated when we couldn’t understand what he was trying to say.  When he started reading, the speech impediment didn’t have an effect on learning the proper spelling of any words.  We asked his pediatrician if we needed to get him into any speech classes and we were told that we didn’t, that he would grow out of his speech impediment. 

So now, Trip has started pronouncing his “th” sound properly.  He’s getting a little mixed up and changing a proper “f” to a “th.”  And it makes me a little sad even though I knew he would eventually grow out of the speech impediment.  My baby is growing up.  Every jump in knowledge they’ve had has been a big jump, but for some strange reason, I thought the speech would gradually change and give me a bigger chance to adjust to his new speech.

Logan is fortunately hanging on to the one word he mispronounces.  Logan’s speech is normally impeccable, but he calls his finger a “thinger.”  We’ve discussed the proper spelling and pronunciation of “finger” at length.  He acknowledges the spelling but refuses to call his finger a finger.

8 thoughts on “Can I Be Sad About This?

  1. Your children go to a private school which is a great school but it is not geared toward anything outside of the normal realm. Public schools do have access to speech therapists and other professionals who work with the children. You could always get a second opinion from a speech therapist instead of just your pediatrician and see if the child needs any assistance.

  2. awww mama, sure, of course it makes you a little sad. every lit step is just one more step away from being a “baby” and it totally makes me bummed too. although, you would think by the kid is 11, I would not to think of her as a baby…but I can’t help myself.=)

    i love thinger. love.

  3. Elizabeth, they’ll always be my babies, no matter how old they get. I’m sure your 11 year old will always be your baby too. And just like my middle brother will always be my mom’s baby! 🙂

  4. They’ll always be our babies 🙂

    My younger son did end up in speech therapy for several years. I was willing to let him wait it out, but he got SO frustrated. He would say, “You don’t speet my wang-wage!!!”

    He’s a relatively articulate 6th grader now. But there are days I really miss when he’d call his brother Erit (Eric) or the dog Wibewty (liberty)

  5. 😦 my little man is 5 now and he could never say words that began with st. he would switch it with a d. so star was dar, stay was day, stick was….yeah you guessed it. ill never forget the time we were playing in the park and him and his sister were digging with sticks and she broke his by accident and he screamed out (lots of people around mind you)… YOU BROKE MY *ICK! if i could only have captured the faces of the parents around me. but now hes getting the hang of it working with the teachers at his school, and its sad to hear twinkle twinkle little star without that cute little “dar” in there. i digress……

Leave a Reply

